Headphones and Haikus

They get annoyed when

they have to shout more than once

before I hear them.

 

But they don’t know that

this is me surviving; the

music lets me breathe.

 

Words and images

plague my mind, wanting me to

claim unsettled debt.

 

Debt owed me, from me.

But I can’t pay it, so must

send a clear message!

 

When everything else

points to self-destruction, my

headphones keep me safe.

 

The deep, booming base;

The echo of harmonies;

The drum beats and fills.

 

As loud as I can

stand it, I tap out patterns,

listen for lyrics,

 

I learn albums back

to front, and build playlists of

my favourite tracks.

 

So, yeah, when life is

testing me, everything hard…

…it’s music I need.

 

They get annoyed when

they have to shout more than once

before I hear them.

 

But they don’t know that

this is me surviving; the

music lets me breathe.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

