What’s It Feel Like?

Some days, I feel lucky to be alive, motivated, positive.  I enjoy clarity of thinking, communicating with loved ones.  I have the concentration to read, write or study.  My senses are heightened – I enjoy the sun on my skin, the wind in my face.

Other days, I feel like a hole has been ripped through my core.  Intrusive thoughts and urges ravage my mind.  Anxiety churns up my gut so that it feels like my insides may fall out through my feet.  I’m agitated, and spend the day wandering around the house like a free-range hen.  Nothing has definition, or meaning.

This is what it feels like to live with chronic, enduring Mental Illness.

Leave a Reply

