Complacency

I think, given the existence of this blog, it might be quite obvious that many of my friends are of the virtual variety.  In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever had friends like some of the people I’ve come across in the online MH community.

As so many of you have been for me, I like to make sure I’m available to others in times of need.  That said, I have to admit to having dropped the ball somewhat recently.  I have a close friend with whom I lost contact for a month or so.  I did send a couple of text messages her way, but I didn’t pursue things when I was met with no response.  However, yesterday, it came to light that she has been in hospital, detained under the MH Act for the last four weeks…and I hadn’t known a thing about it.  Why?  Not because I am under the illusion that someone should have let me know, but because I didn’t stop and think about why she had gone quiet.

I feel awful that this lovely, funny, intelligent girl has been in agony and I’ve not been therefor her.  I could have been sending daily text messages in an effort to keep her spirits up.  Or mailing care parcels down.  Or playing online games with her.

I have a feeling you might read this, LO, and I want you to know that I’m sorry, that I believe in you, that you have so much still to offer and that I won’t take our friendship for granted again.  Remember, We Can Do Hard Things xxx

4 thoughts on “Complacency

  1. I’m grateful for our online community. When I went through a period where I was agoraphobic (I couldn’t even step out to get the mail,) the friends I had in the blogosphere became my only friends. It’s nice to have friends, virtual or otherwise, who “get it.”

    I’m not going to lecture you on the guilt you’re feeling regarding LO, because I’m sure you know you’re not responsible in any way. I hope you can forgive yourself soon.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you.

      Yes, it is nice, isn’t it? People who (for the most part) wouldn’t know should they trip over you in the street are there without judgement. I don’t know where I’d be without my blogging/Twitter friends.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I hope things improve for your friend. It is hard to know, though, everyone has different ways of dealing with their stuff. I, for one, tend to isolate myself from my friends during rough patches.

    I also love this online community. So much easier to connect with people and make friendships than in real life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Just seen this. You have nothing to be sorry for. I much prefer it that you put yourself first. As the reality neither of us put that kind of expectation on the other and so we shouldn’t put it on ourselves either. The nature of mental illness includes ups and downs and it can be very hard to keep up with the others when we are going through our own! xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

