Food For Thought (ii)

**TW: contain mild references to ED-related behaviours.  Please proceed only if you are comfortable with the subject matter.**

This post takes the same direction as the one I published yesterday.

As I scrolled through my Twitter feed yesterday morning (@imillnotcrazy), I came across this article:

https://spectrumnews.org/features/deep-dive/the-invisible-link-between-autism-and-anorexia/?platform=hootsuite

It’s a fascinating read, and rings true with me*.  I’ve never described my issues around food as a desire to be thin.  Not in the conventional sense, anyway -I don’t aspire to images of painfully thin women in glossy magazines.  Rather, its always been something I’ve felt I could control, when everything else goes to shit…my mind may be in turmoil much of the time, but I count calories, restrict my intake, watch the bones come up to meet my skin, and all is right with the world.  The irony, of course, is that beyond a certain point I’m far from ‘in control’.

*Although, after careful consideration, I failed to meet much of the diagnostic criteria for Autism Spectrum Disorder.

 

3 thoughts on “Food For Thought (ii)

Leave a Reply

