The Trust In Me

In recent years, there are two (not counting family members or friends) people who have been with me the whole way.  Two professional people who have invested hours in me and my future, who haven’t batted an eyelid when I’ve, time and again, let them down.  Two people who have allowed me countless setbacks, who’ve waited patiently while I hit rock bottom and bounce.  Two people who trust me to pull through, and live to tell the tale.

One is my Psychologist.  Most would question her loyalty to me, her diligence, her absolute determination not to let me ruin myself on her watch.  I openly admit that the Personality Disorder in me must be excruciating to work with.  There are times where I must appear, frankly, defiant.  But she has recognised that this trait is down to the Disorder, and not my Personality.  Some might argue that this is her job, but I know there are many who would have given up by now.  In fact, my first CPN did just that.  We were at loggerheads constantly, and he didn’t know how to help me.

The second is my GP.  Today, he proved his professionalism by calling me at random to check in.  He’s been inundated with correspondence from A&E, and wanted to see how I was doing.  I call this professionalism because I had a bit of an embarrassing appointment with him a couple of weeks ago, where he (didn’t terrify me at all and) ruled out a horrendous spinal condition before giving me antibiotics for a urine infection…but that’s a story laugh for another time.

So, yeah, I just wanted to put this out there.  I have great support at home, but with the best will in the World, my family are not trained to cope with the worst in me.  They can catch me, but they don’t know what to do from there…I thank God I have these two extra people to sit it out, talk it out and sort it out with me.

2 thoughts on “The Trust In Me

  1. Thank you. I know I’m lucky compared to some; it’s a bit of a postcode (think you call that a zip code??) lottery here in the UK and not everyone has a positive experience when it comes to healthcare. I don’t take this for granted.

    Have been catching up with some of your recent blog posts this evening. Wonderful as ever; I’m sorry I’ve been out of the loop for a few weeks. I endeavour to read a little more frequently going forward!

    x

    Like

Leave a Reply

