Birthday Blues

But, in truth, I’ve felt lousy much of the day.  I’m absolutely not ungrateful.  Instead, I feel unworthy, guilty.  People have taken the time and effort to make it as simple, as low-key, as much of a non-event, as possible.  So I should feel happy, right?  I should be in amongst my family, laughing and carrying on.  But I’m in my bedroom, with the door closed and curtains closed, writing this.  I’m wishing the night away, desperate for bed time to come around so that this day can be done.  And I’m also dreading waking up tomorrow, because we’re having a (larger) get-together from my Gran’s 80th birthday and I expect that to be even tougher than today has been.

5 thoughts on “Birthday Blues

  1. I know this comment is a little on the late side but I’m so sorry you had a miserable birthday. It’s one time of year that you most deserve to most have a great, positive and joyful time!
    I’d like to say a belated Happy Birthday anyway. ❤
    I think you're a kind, compassionate, intelligent, creative and generally pretty awesome human being and so to me, your birth and presence in this world is something that certainly deserves to be celebrated!
    I'm sure I'm not the only one who feels this way! 🙂
    Aimee xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

