SH: A Poem At 4 Weeks Clean

TW: Strong reference to self-harm.  Please proceed only if you are comfortable with the subject matter.

Tonight

I fight the urge,

To self harm.

The noise

In my brain

Won’t quit.

Do I fight?

Or does this only

Suppress the urge?

Do I employ

Damage limitation?

Aerosols, blades,

Burns or cuts?

I could swallow

A small yellow pill*;

Self-medication,

Life-preservation,

And hope that tomorrow

Dawns a brighter colour,

Deals a brand new hand.

Yes,

This is what I’ll do,

Goodnight

And God bless.

*To clarify, I refer here to 5mg of Diazepam, a drug prescribed to me.  I was not alluding to any illegal, recreational substance!

One thought on “SH: A Poem At 4 Weeks Clean

Leave a Reply

