Self harm, the reality.

This post perfectly describes my life right now. I don’t think I’d ever be brave enough to write so candidly but I want my own followers to read this and know that this is how I feel.

Fighting for Becca

Self harm. As many as 1 in 10 young people will engage in it at some point during their life and yet we almost never hear it talked about. I’ve written before about some of the stigma that comes with being a self harmer and about my experiences in A&E, this time I thought I would talk about the day to day reality of living with self harm.

My self harm started off, like many peoples, as minor scratching and cutting. Enough to draw blood but injuries that left only thin pale scars and put me at little risk. That doesn’t mean it’s okay. When I first started self harming I remember seeing pictures of severe self harm online and thinking that would never be me. That it would never get that bad. And yet here I am 10 years later still self harming and to a point where I…

View original post 784 more words

Leave a Reply

