Blog For MH 2015

I want to try and keep this brief, because I want to hold your attention.  This is important.

I have been blogging about my life with mental illness since last Autumn.  Officially I have Generalised Anxiety Disorder (GAD), Depression and am also recovering from an Eating Disorder.  I am currently undergoing testing for Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) and Avoidant Personality Disorder (APD).

I blog anonymously about diagnosis, treatments, therapies, the individual aspects of my all-encompassing ‘mental illness’ and, sometimes, I just need to vent.  I think that’s the most important thing here, my blog is MY OWN PRIVATE SPACE.  I can write whatever I want without disturbing or upsetting the people I love.

In the time that I have been blogging, I have met some amazing people.  People with whom I can just be, who understand, who offer validation, reassurance, guidance.  I have made some real friends, with whom I now correspond daily via Twitter, text message, email, good old Royal Mail.  I happened to read a blog earlier today by BorderlineFunctional (one of said friends) which champions, and encourages people to join in, the Blog For Mental Health 2015.  I was instantly interested and am eager to get involved, so this is where I take the pledge:

“I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2015 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.”

I will continue to blog as often as I need.  I feel passionately about writing as an outlet, and about using my blog to raise awareness.  I hope you’ll join me (Blog For Mental Health 2015, in case you missed it the first time!).

2 thoughts on “Blog For MH 2015

Leave a Reply

